Getting a late start

Posted: April 2, 2015 in Health and Fitness

So, everyone makes their new year’s resolutions January 1st. I’m…very late. But, that’s ok. Better late than never, right? I’ve actually already begun making changes. Now would be a good time to work up a plan for myself, to help stay on track. I have several long-term goals that I need to map out, regarding school, my health, my family, and just generally becoming a better person. School is pretty set: I know what I want to do, and how I need to get there. As far as family, my main goal there is buying a house in a good school district (I never knew how important that was before the kids…), and getting us to a place where Charlie doesn’t have to work so hard (which is why I’m going to school). My main focus is going to be my health.

I’ve been very lucky, so far, with not having to take a lot of medications to manage my lupus. I feel like time is running out on that score. I want to delay it as long as I can. Flare-ups are happening more frequently. I’ve gotten off track with maintaining my activity levels, mainly since Mom died last year. She’d kick my ass, for that…

Goal setting is my main issue. I can set vague goals with the best of them. Problem is, vague goals end up being overwhelming, and overwhelming goals tend to get put off. So, I’m setting specific goals. I don’t just want to lose weight. Actually, my goal isn’t to lose weight, at all. The weight will come off. I want more energy. The only real way to get more energy is to be active. I want muscle tone and less body fat. I want to lose the inches I lost before I stopped working out last year, and then lose a few more. So, I’ve joined a group. We’re doing a 6 week challenge, with specific goals to meet each week. If we don’t meet those goals, we are eliminated. I like this approach. It forces you to be accountable.

So. This week, our challenge is to exercise 30 minutes on three days, drink at least 64oz of water on three days, and do 25 reps of ab exercises 4 times this week. The water part, I’m not too worried about, because I do that anyway. The rest, I’m making good progress with, so far.

I know me well enough to know just how big an impact this will have on other areas of my life. Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

